The Metro Tunnel will create a new end-to-end rail line from Sunbury in Melbourne’s west to Cranbourne/Pakenham in the south-east.

Twin 9km rail tunnels will run between Kensington and South Yarra.

High-capacity signalling will allow longer, more modern trains to run more frequently, taking passengers to 5 new underground stations:

  • Arden Station (North Melbourne)
  • Parkville Station
  • State Library Station
  • Town Hall Station
  • Anzac Station (St Kilda Road).

When the Metro Tunnel is completed by 2025, more than 500,000 more passengers per week will be able to use Melbourne’s trains during peak periods.

Learn more about this project

Tunnelling progress

Indicative only, residents and local businesses seeking specific information regarding the location of a tunnel boring machine can get in touch with the project team on 1800 105 105.